Community Council Government Infrastructure Louth Louth County Council

Louth County Council Recognises Long Service in Fire Service

Louth County Council Fire Services Personnel were delighted to attend a long service awards ceremony at Knightsbrook Trim Co. Meath recently in recognition of their ongoing commitment to the Emergency Services.

The event organized by the National Directorate for Fire and Emergency Management was a major occasion which saw strong attendance from fire service members from all over the country. Over 270 fire service attendees were noted.

Cathaoirleach of Meath County Council Cllr Nick Killian opened the ceremony with the Director of the National Fire Service Keith Leonard presenting the awards. The event was attended by the Cathaoirleach of Louth County Council Conor Keelan and Louth County Council Chief Fire Officer Eamon Woulfe.

Louth County Council Fire Station Officers Michael Donnelly and Mark McElearney each received an award recognising 30 years and over of dedication to the Fire Emergency Service.

20 year awards were presented to Louth County Station Officers Anthony Byrne and Paul Kelly, Sub Officers Ian Coyle, Dylan Kiely and Sean Leyden and Fire Fighters Michael Dawe, Alan Fealy and Martin McGee.

The awards ceremony was especially poignant for Louth County Council Fire Services, as Samantha McBride accepted a 30 year award on behalf of her late husband Station Officer Shane McBride who recently died on 25th September 2022.    


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s